Girls Basketball Practice begins Monday, Oct 31

Basketball practice for freshman girls will begin Monday, October 31.

     Mon-Thurs will run 4-6 pm

     Fri will run 3:30-5:30 pm

     Saturday will run 11 am-1 pm 


Ladies MUST have a completed, signed physical form BEFORE they will be permitted to practice. 

Thank you,

Coaches Witten, Setter, and Garrison 



Letter from Principal Bailey


Congratulations VOD Winners

The Annual Voice of Democracy Contest was held at Capital with over 70 students competing for the prize. 

The following names are the winners for the contest.

1st Place - $100   Luke Maynus- Grade 9  - Teacher Mrs. Miller

2nd Place - $50    Azariah Spurlock - Grade 10 - Teacher Mr. Teel

Tie for 3rd Place - $25  Each

                             Isabel Menon - Grade 9 - Teacher Mrs. Mohn-Lowe

                             Madison Staten - Grade 9 - Teacher Ms. Sampson






Pride of CHS wins at Black Walnut Festival

The Pride of Capital High competed in the Black Walnut Festival on Saturday, September 15 and won the following:

Parade Band - 2nd Place

Color Guard - 2nd Place

Field Commander - 1st Place

Percussion - 1st Place

Field Competition Band - 2nd Place

Feature Twirler - 1st Place Overall

Field Competition Band Overall Champion - 1st Runner Up

Honor Band Overall Champion - 1st Runner Up

2016 Miss Majorette - Lauren Carnell


Briana D. Blankenship, M.A.

Director of Bands

Capital High School



Congratulations Sophie Morgado

Capital H.S. senior Sophie Morgado has been selected as AARP West Virginia/MetroNews Scholar Athlete of the Week honoree for the week of October 16, 2016.




Prom Committee collecting Children's Gloves for flood victims

The prom committee has been made aware of a need in our community.  Some of the  flood victims are in need of children's gloves for the fall and winter.

The prom committee will begin collecting gloves on Monday, October 24 thru Friday Nov. 4.  The gloves need to be new or gently used. The goal is to have 100 pairs of gloves donated. 

We would like to challenge all clubs and organizations to donate 10 pairs of gloves.