2017 Turkey Shoot Winners


On Behalf of Colonel Owens, First Sergeant Riley and the entire Cougar Battalion, we would like to thank everyone that supported our Turkey shoot fundraiser, we had a record # of participants this year. We had 59 competitors.
All targets can be picked up today in the JROTC room if you want yours
And the winners are
Staff Division: With a score of 49 out of 50  Ms. Amy Layne
Student Division: With a score of 48 out of 50 Mr. Nathan Hill

Geography Bowl Team Competes at Concord University


The Capital High School Geography Bowl Team recently competed in the state geography bowl held at Concord University. The team was comprised of the following students:
Allison Farley-12
India Menon-12
Jordan Means-11
Santino Maniscalchi-11
Adrian Langford-11
The team was one of 16 teams competing and one of two Kanawha County teams. The team finished with a record of 7 wins, 5 losses, and 3 ties. Wheeling Park won the competition, but it should be noted that we beat them in regular competition. Each student that competed received a $500 scholarship to Concord.
Congratulations to us!
Geography Bowl 11 11 17

Turkey Shoot Wednesday & Thursday





Proud of our Cougar Soccer Girls




Kudos to our girls' soccer team members for being selected for the following recognition: 


       Katy O'Reilly, first team

       Lizzie Strazzula and Claire Bailey, second team 

       Kaleigh Shaffer, special honorable mention

       And Alexa Webb, honorable mention 


Additionally, Katy O'Reilly was selected to first Team All State for defense. She was the Region 3 selection as top player. 


Lizzie Strazzula received Honorable Mention All State. 





Girls' Basketball tryouts begin today, Monday, Nov 6


Girls' basketball tryouts will begin Monday, November 6 in our gym, 3:30-5:30.  The girls' locker room will be open immediately after school. 
Players must have a completed physical form in order to participate. 
For more information, contact Coach Cunningham atThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  
Or Coach Garrison at
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

FAFSA Workshop Nov 8






Student Body Secretary – Kristen McMillion

Student Body Vice President – Chase Robinson

Student Body President – Zach Ihnat

Sophomore Class Vice President – Hannah Tackett

Sophomore Class President – Isabel Menon

Sophomore Class Secretary – Kiara Barron

Sophomore Class Representatives

Dylan Andrews

Riley Otey

Brock Perry

Sabrina Brogan

Kaleigh Shaffer

Callie Chambers

Claire Bailey

Reggie McIver

Dylan Ellison

Spirit Scott

Samantha Eggleston

Madison Staten

Baylee Noble

Junior Class Secretary – Kassie Hoffman

Junior Class Vice President – Mackenzie Williams

Junior Class President – Grace Kirsh

Junior Class Representatives

Caroline Kinney

Phota Huffman

Amy Zheng

Chloe Carpenter

Olivia McCoy

Kaitlyn Legg

Hannah Dolin

Emma Leech

Jordan Means

Cole Plutro

Hannah Ihnat

Josh Yianne

Michael Morgado

Corey Crowder

Hannah Spruce

Senior Class Secretary – Chase Goldsmith

Senior Class Vice President – Deelan Patel

Senior Class President – Jakob Spruce

Senior Class Representatives

Elena Liu

Allison Farley

Katy O’Reilly

Alexa Webb

Claire Frostick

Samantha Nelson

Mekenzi McNabb

Vishnu Kasireddy

Audrey McMillion

Lizbeth Parra

Conner Reeves

Ethan Shin